We were lucky enough to sample the new Dandies Maple-Flavored Marshmallows before they hit store shelves. Here's what we thought!
Subscribe: Apple | Spotify | Stitcher | Amazon
Dandies has been making vegan marshmallows since 2001. They were making vegan mallows back when things like that were very hard to find. So you can imagine my excitement about trying Dandies new maple flavor!
Disclosure: Dandies sent us these bags of marshmallows to try for free. All opinions are 100% our own.
Texture-wise, these were the same as any other Dandies I've tried. they're soft and pillowy. The outside is smooth and not sticky at all.
Where these maple marshmallows vary from your typical marshmallow is in the scent and flavor.
The first thing that you notice when you open the bag is the strong scent of maple syrup. It smells like fall and really beckons you to toss a few mini marshmallows into your mouth.
Despite the strong aroma, these have a pleasant, light maple flavor. The flavor tastes natural and not at all cloying. It's very much present without being overpowering.
They're just delightful, and I am excited to use them to make some fall-themed rice crispy treats. They'd also be great for adding a maple edge to a mug of cocoa.
But, if we're being real, the kid and I have been eating these straight from the bag for days. They're just so addictive!
Fingers crossed that enough make it, uneaten, until I have time to make those rice crispy treats. Because I really want to do that!
Why aren't all marshmallows vegan?
A lot of new vegans are shocked to learn that conventional marshmallows aren't vegan. They're not even vegetarian!
Marshmallows -- like many gummy candies -- are made from gelatin, which is ground up and boiled animal bones and ligaments. No, thank you!
Luckily, there are companies like Dandies out there creating animal-free marshmallows for all of our cocoa needs.
What are Dandies made of?
Instead of gelatin, Dandies use alternative thickeners to make their marshmallows. Gelatin is a thickener, as well, so they just had to find good replacements.
Here's what's in Dandies Maple-Flavored Marshmallows:
Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Filtered Water, Tapioca Starch, Carrageenan, Soy Protein, Colored with Apple Cider Concentrate, Natural Vanilla Flavor, Maple Syrup, Natural Maple Flavor.
The thickeners I'm seeing here are tapioca starch and carrageenan. I know that carrageenan got some bad press a few years ago, but it's really a benign ingredient that's derived from seaweed.
Their marshmallows are also gluten-free and dairy-free.
How to melt vegan marshmallows
In my experience, vegan marshmallows melt just like regular ones do. They may melt slightly faster, but as long as you don't walk away from the stove, you're in good shape.
I have used a few different brands of vegan marshmallows -- including Dandies -- to make my vegan rice crispy treats. They've all worked perfectly, one-to-one, using the same method as you would with conventional marshmallows.
The maple marshmallows are miniatures, so I haven't roasted them, but full-sized Dandies also roast up like a dream over a fire. Just like their conventional cousins, they get browned and caramelized on the outside and melty-gooey on the inside.
More episodes we think you'll enjoy
- Vegan Cookies and Creme Bon Bons from Trader Joes
- Whole Foods Organic Chocolate Truffles
- Ocho Coconut Minis
Where to listen
Thank you so much for listening (or reading!). We record these episodes for you, and we'd love to hear from you.
Got a favorite vegan treat that you think we should cover on the podcast? Send your suggestions to [email protected]!
You can find Talkin' Tofu on:
Subscribe to Talkin' Tofu anywhere you get your podcasts. You can also follow us on Twitter and on Instagram!
Tried this recipe? Have a question? Leave a reply!