Let's eat some vegan ice cream! We purchased a pint of So Delicious Oat Milk Dairy Free S'mores to try. Here's what we thought.
So Delicious Oatmilk S'mores review
Our thoughts on this particular vegan ice cream are a bit complicated.
I loved this ice cream, but! It also didn't remind me very much of s'mores. That's because they took a big swing in the formulation.
You'd think that a s'mores ice cream would have chocolate ice cream as the base, but So Delicious created a graham cracker ice cream base, and, y'all. I am a fan.
The graham cracker ice cream's flavor is spot on, and it allowed them to bring in that element without worrying about the graham crackers going soggy.
Soggy mix-ins can be an issue in loaded ice creams like this one. We talked about that problem in our episode on Ben & Jerry's Netlix & Chilll'd
That said, I think that the chocolate pieces were too small. They kind of got lost. Bigger pieces of chocolate would have brought that crunch you associate with s'mores and given it a better ratio of chocolate to graham cracker flavor.
I was also a big fan of the marshmallow swirl. Which brings us to Dave's thoughts.
Dave was not as into this ice cream as I was. He thought the marshmallow was overpowering, and he agreed that the chocolate didn't give you the texture you needed.
He also thought that the graham cracker ice cream was bangin', though. But the thing that really got him was that marshmallow.
While I really loved the marshmallow, even though there was a lot of it, he found it completely overpowering. The problem, he said, was that there were just huge pockets of marshmallow swirl that were just that, with no other flavors permeating it.
We both agreed that this ice cream wasn't very s'mores-like, but we both liked it and want to eat it again.
For what it's worth, the kid told me that it's the best ice cream he's ever had.
Frequently asked questions
Any time we're talking vegan ice cream, there are bound to be questions! If you have a question about So Delicious Oatmilk S'mores not answered here, drop it in the comments, and I will find out for you!
Yes! The only allergens listed are coconut and tree nuts.
Oatmilk (Filtered Water, Whole Oat Flour), Organic Cane Sugar, Organic Coconut Oil, Organic Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Cocoa, Pea Protein, Apple Juice Concentrate (For Color), Chocolate Liquor, Natural Flavor, Guar Gum, Locust Bean Gum, Sea Salt, Sunflower Lecithin, Xanthan Gum
No. While conventional marshmallows are made with gelatin, the marshmallow swirl in So Delicious Oatmilk S'mores is gelatin-free.
Where to listen
Thank you so much for listening (or reading!). We record these episodes for you, and we'd love to hear from you.
Got a favorite vegan treat that you think we should cover on the podcast? Send your suggestions to [email protected]!
You can find Talkin' Tofu on: