This alcohol app that can tell you whether the drink you're ordering (or making!) is vegan. Not all alcohol is vegan, so this is handy for quick in-aisle lookups!
When I shared my red wine hot toddy recipe I got a little bit into the hidden animal products that sometimes pop up in wine. But wine isn't the only drink that can contain hidden animal products. Beer and liquor also sometimes contain non-vegan ingredients.
So how can you tell if you're choosing vegan alcohol? These apps can help! There are options for Android, Apple and Windows phone, so there's something for pretty much anyone.
The apps use the data from the awesome Barnivore database in a super simple format, so you can make informed snap decisions at the store.
The alcohol apps use Barnivore's traffic light system to tell you if the booze you're looking up is:
- vegan (green)
- not vegan (red)
- sometimes vegan (yellow)
The yellow can be a little bit confusing, but Barnivore usually includes the text of the company's email response. That means you can read more information about which products from a particular company do and don't contain animal products.
For example, 21st Amendment bottled beers are vegan, but the same ones on tap sometimes contain honey and animal fining (processing) ingredients.
Why isn't all alcohol vegan?
Of course, if a product contains honey or other obvious animal ingredients it's not vegan, but there are quite a few hidden animal ingredients in the alcohol-making process.
Just as bone char can be part of the sugar-refining process, animal products can be part of making beer, wine, or liquors.
Beer and wine are the usual suspects when it comes to hidden animal ingredients, but not all liquors are vegan, so it's worth looking up, just in case.
Here are some of the animal ingredients that go into boozy drinks that you really have no way of knowing about unless you ask the company:
- isinglass - gelatin made from fish bladders
- gelatin - powdered bones and ligaments
- egg whites (aka albumin)
- casein - a milk protein
- carmine - a "natural color" made from crushed beetles
I know, I just said that honey is obvious, but sometimes it's not listed on the label. Tricky!
I love that I can whip my phone out at the liquor store or the bar now and check this alcohol app to see whether what I'm ordering is vegan. Because I do not want fish bladders in my wine, y'all. G-R-O-S-S.
Barnivore is an ongoing project, and if your favorite libation isn't listed, they have an easy peasy form letter (in many languages!). You can use it to ask your favorite company whether their alcohol is vegan. Click here to see their "Ask a Company" page!
I kind of feel like I'm late to the party with this app, and now I'm wondering what other awesome vegan apps I'm missing out on. Do you have any favorite apps for finding vegan food, clothes shoes, etc?