We picked up all of the vegan varieties of Zapp's chips that we could find at the store! Find out how we liked them, plus get a complete list of the vegan Zapp's flavors.
Y'all, we. love. Zapp's. They're Dave's favorite chips, and we almost always have a bag of them in the house.
For this week's episode of Talkin' Tofu, I headed to the store and grabbed every vegan bag of Zapp's that I could find, and we ranked them.
Our rankings were very different, so the list below is in no particular order. Listen to the episode to get our rankings:
Not all Zapp's chips are vegan, so you'll also find a list of all their vegan varieties, as of this writing. Companies do sometimes change their recipes, so be sure to check the labels, especially if you have a food allergy.
Voodoo and Voodoo Heat
The Voodoo chips are one of Zapp's classic varieties, and the Voodoo Heat is a spicy spin on the original.
For me, the Voodoo chips are their star flavor. They're like salt and vinegar meets BBQ, and they're just incredible. I thought that the Voodoo Heat was good, but it sacrificed some of that good sweet, tanginess to make room for the heat, and it didn't do it any favors.
Dave preferred the Voodoo Heat, because he hates both salt and vinegar and BBQ chips.
Spicy Cajun Crawtator
These chips are meant to invoke the flavors of a crawfish boil, so it's surprising that they're vegan! If you like that Old Bay seasoning flavor, you'll love these!
I felt like they were missing something. Maybe a little umami or tang? But Dave was a big fan.
Hotter 'n' Hot Jalapeño
These are Dave's favorite variety of vegan Zapp's, and I'm a big fan of these, too! They pack a nice heat.
For me, they could also benefit from one more flavor dimension, but I think part of that was that I'd just eaten the Voodoo chips, which just have such an amazing, complex flavor.
More vegan Zapp's chip flavors
We couldn't find these at the store, but these are the other vegan Zapp's chips, as of this writing:
- Cajun Dill Gator-tator
- Evil Eye (These contain lactic acid, but since they're marked Kosher Pareve, I'm assuming that's from plant sources.)
- Mesquite BBQ
Sadly, their Salt and Vinegar chips are not vegan, as they contain milk.
More vegan food reviews
🎧 Where to listen
Thank you so much for listening (or reading!). We record these episodes for you, and we'd love to hear from you.
Got a favorite vegan treat that you think we should cover on the podcast? Send your suggestions to [email protected]!
You can find Talkin' Tofu on: