These vegan chocolate recipes will hit you right in the sweet tooth. There are recipes for chocolate bars, cakes, brownies, pies, and more!
Got a chocolate craving? Same. Always. There are plenty of vegan chocolates that you can buy, but making a vegan chocolate recipe from scratch is super rewarding.
Vegan chocolate recipes
Frequently asked questions
Yes and no. Many dark chocolates are naturally vegan. Chocolate is just a mix of cocoa powder, cocoa butter, and sugar. Some chocolate makers do add milk, cream, butter, or butterfat to dark chocolate, though, so you need to check labels carefully.
Milk chocolate contains dairy unless it's specified dairy-free or vegan milk chocolate.
Cocoa powder, on its own, is vegan. However, most conventional hot cocoa contains dairy milk. It's easy to make vegan hot chocolate, however! Just use plant-based milk, and you are in business.
A lot of dark chocolates are accidentally vegan, but you should check the label for milk ingredients. Here are a few brands that have vegan offerings:
- Endangered Species
- XOXO Chocolove
- Whole Foods 365
- Trader Joe's
- Simple Truth Organic
- Little Secrets
You'll still want to check the label, because not everything from most of these companies is vegan, but they have a lot of delicious options!
Choosing vegan chocolate
You might be worried that chocolate isn't vegan, and I want to put your mind at ease. Chocolate comes from plants. Basic chocolate is just cocoa powder, cocoa butter (a plant butter), and sugar.
Cocoa powder is a plant product and is totally vegan. Just make sure that you're buying 100% cocoa powder. Mixes, like hot chocolate mix, can contain powdered dairy milk.
Milk chocolate isn't vegan, and some dark chocolate does contain dairy, but it's pretty easy now to find vegan chocolate candies and vegan chocolate chips.
When you're shopping for chocolate, use my quick, three-step method to discover whether it's vegan:
- Flip the package to the back.
- Find the ingredients section.
- Check the allergen statement. Does it say "Contains milk."? If not, you're in the clear!
Some chocolate will have allergen statements like "produced in a facility that also processes milk" or "may contain milk". Those are both allergy warnings, and you don't have to worry about them.